FIFA world cup 2014 review

All about FIFA WORLD CUP 2014.
2014 FIFA World Cup
Copa do Mundo da FIFA
Brasil 2014[nb 1]
2014 FIFA World Cup official logo:
Juntos num só ritmo
(All in one rhythm)
Tournament details
Host country Brazil
Dates 12 June – 13 July 2014 (32 days)
Teams 32 (from 5 confederations)
Venue(s) 12 (in 12 host cities)
Final positions
Champions  Germany (4th title)
Runners-up  Argentina
Third place  Netherlands
Fourth place  Brazil
Tournament statistics
Matches played 64
Goals scored 171 (2.67 per match)
Attendance 3,429,873 (53,592 per match)
Top scorer(s) Colombia James Rodríguez
(6 goals)[1]
Best player Argentina Lionel Messi[2]
Best young player France Paul Pogba[3]
Bestgoalkeeper Germany Manuel Neuer[4]
← 2010
2018 →

The 2014 FIFA World Cup was the 20th FIFA World Cup, the tournament for the association football world championship, which took place at several venues across Brazil. Germany won the tournament, defeating runners-upArgentina 1-0 in the final match.

It began on 12 June, with a group stage, and concluded on 13 July with the championship match.[5] It was the second time that Brazil has hosted the competition, the first being in 1950. Brazil was elected unchallenged as host nation in 2007 after the international football federation, FIFA, decreed that the tournament would be staged in South America for the first time since 1978 in Argentina, and the fifth time overall.

The national teams of 31 countries advanced through qualification competitions that began in June 2011 to participate with the host nation Brazil in the final tournament. A total of 64 matches were being played in 12 cities across Brazil in either new or redeveloped stadiums. For the first time at a World Cup finals, match officials used goal-line technology, as well asvanishing foam for free kicks.[6]

All world champion teams since the first World Cup in 1930 – ArgentinaBrazil,EnglandFranceGermanyItalySpain and Uruguay – qualified for this competition. The title holders, Spain, were eliminated at the group stage, along with previous winners England and Italy. Uruguay was eliminated in the Round of 16 and France was eliminated at the quarter-finals. In the final between two former champions Argentina and Germany, Germany won the title by defeating Argentina 1–0 after extra time, thus becoming the first European team to win a World Cup in the Americas.[7] This result marked the first time that sides from the same continent had won three successive World Cups (following Italy in2006 and Spain in 2010).[8][9]

As the winners, Germany qualified for the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup. During the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Fan Fest in the host cities received 5 million people, and the country received 1 million foreigners from 202 countries.[10]


Add comment

Security code

Additional information

A Solsolis Venture Other initiatives are